Swiss Labour Market Barometer

The Swiss Labour Market Barometer is a monthly leading indicator based on a survey of labour market experts from selected employment centres in 22 cantons.

Swiss Labour Market Barometer remains in negative territory

Arbeitsmarktbarometer_Februar_EN

In February, the short-term, seasonally adjusted outlook for the Swiss labour market as anticipated by labour market experts remained negative on the whole. The barometer reached 98.4 points.

“In real terms, the seasonally-adjusted unemployment rate has been creeping up for a year now. This reflects the dampened demand for labour amid weaker economic growth. The slowdown of the economy manifested itself last autumn among other things in a year-on-year increase in the number of workers receiving short-time working compensation,” says Oliver Schärli, head of the Labour market/unemployment insurance division at SECO.

Grafik_Februar_EN

At 98.1 percentage points, the short-term outlook for registered unemployment (seasonally adjusted) was once again worse in February than the short-term outlook for employment (seasonally adjusted), which reached 98.7 points.


Methodology

The Swiss Labour Market Barometer is a monthly leading indicator based on a survey of labour market experts from selected employment centres in 22 cantons. The survey has been conducted since May 2021 by SECO in collaboration with the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) in Germany and the European Labour Market Barometer.

While component A of the barometer signals the development of the seasonally adjusted unemployment figures for the next three months, component B forecasts employment trends. The average of the components ‘unemployment’ and ‘employment’ constitutes the total value of the barometer. This indicator thus provides an outlook on the overall development of the labour market. The scale ranges from 90 (very poor development) to 110 (very good development).

European Labour Market Barometer

The European Labour Market Barometer has been conducted since June 2018 together with the public employment offices in participating countries and the IAB. Currently, 18 countries take part in the survey. These include: Austria, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Belgium-DG, Belgium-Flanders, Germany, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland, Sweden and Belgium-Wallonia. 

https://www.secoalv.admin.ch/content/secoalv/en/home/menue/institutionen-medien/schweizer-arbeitsmarktbarometer.html

Baromètre suisse du marché de l'emploi

Le baromètre suisse du marché de l'emploi est un indicateur mensuel précoce qui se base sur un sondage mené auprès d'experts du marché du travail dans des offices de placement de 22 cantons.


Le baromètre suisse du marché de l’emploi atteint son niveau le plus bas pour l’instant

Arbeitsmarktbarometer_November_FR.PNG


En novembre 2022, le baromètre suisse du marché de l’emploi atteint 98,4 points de pourcentage, son niveau le plus bas pour l’instant.

« Les experts du marché de l’emploi dans les ORP prévoient pour les trois prochains mois un recul sensible de l’emploi (corrigé des variations saisonnières) et une tendance à la hausse du chômage (corrigé des variations saisonnières). Le nombre des préavis de réduction de l’horaire de travail des entreprises de l’industrie a aussi augmenté ces dernières semaines. En cas de ralentissement conjoncturel plus marqué, ce secteur économique serait le premier touché », explique Oliver Schärli, chef du centre de prestations Marché du travail et assurance-chômage au SECO.


Dégradation de l’évaluation du chômage enregistré et de l’emploi
 

Grafik_Arbeitsmarktbarometer_November_FR.PNG


Avec 98,5 points pour le chômage enregistré (corrigé des variations saisonnières) et 98,3 points pour l’emploi (corrigé des variations saisonnières), l’évaluation des deux composantes du baromètre du marché de l’emploi en novembre 2022 est un peu moins favorable que celle du mois précédent.


Méthodologie

Le baromètre suisse du marché de l'emploi est un indicateur mensuel précoce qui se base sur un sondage mené auprès d'experts du marché du travail dans des offices de placement de 22 cantons. L'enquête est conduite par le SECO depuis mai 2021 en collaboration avec l'institut allemand IAB (Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung) et le baromètre européen du marché de l’emploi.

Tandis que le composant A du baromètre affiche l'évolution du taux de chômage corrigé des variations saisonnières des trois prochains mois, le composant B prévoit l'évolution de l'emploi. La moyenne des composants « chômage » et « emploi » fournit la valeur totale du baromètre. Cet indicateur offre donc une vision d'ensemble de l'évolution du marché de l'emploi. L'échelle s'étend de 90 (très mauvaise évolution) à 110 (très bonne évolution).

Baromètre européen du marché de l'emploi

Le baromètre européen du marché de l'emploi est réalisé depuis juin 2018 en collaboration avec les services publics de l'emploi des pays participants et l'IAB. Actuellement, 18 pays prennent part au sondage, dont : l'Autriche, la Bulgarie, Chypre, la République Tchèque, le Danemark, la Belgique (CG), la Belgique (Flandre), l'Allemagne, l'Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Lituanie, le Luxembourg, Malte, la Pologne, le Portugal, la Suisse, la Suède et la Belgique (Wallonie).

https://www.secoalv.admin.ch/content/secoalv/fr/home/menue/institutionen-medien/schweizer-arbeitsmarktbarometer.html