Swiss Labour Market Barometer

The Swiss Labour Market Barometer is a monthly leading indicator based on a survey of labour market experts from selected employment centres in 22 cantons.

Swiss Labour Market Barometer remains in negative territory

Arbeitsmarktbarometer_Februar_EN

In February, the short-term, seasonally adjusted outlook for the Swiss labour market as anticipated by labour market experts remained negative on the whole. The barometer reached 98.4 points.

“In real terms, the seasonally-adjusted unemployment rate has been creeping up for a year now. This reflects the dampened demand for labour amid weaker economic growth. The slowdown of the economy manifested itself last autumn among other things in a year-on-year increase in the number of workers receiving short-time working compensation,” says Oliver Schärli, head of the Labour market/unemployment insurance division at SECO.

Grafik_Februar_EN

At 98.1 percentage points, the short-term outlook for registered unemployment (seasonally adjusted) was once again worse in February than the short-term outlook for employment (seasonally adjusted), which reached 98.7 points.


Methodology

The Swiss Labour Market Barometer is a monthly leading indicator based on a survey of labour market experts from selected employment centres in 22 cantons. The survey has been conducted since May 2021 by SECO in collaboration with the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) in Germany and the European Labour Market Barometer.

While component A of the barometer signals the development of the seasonally adjusted unemployment figures for the next three months, component B forecasts employment trends. The average of the components ‘unemployment’ and ‘employment’ constitutes the total value of the barometer. This indicator thus provides an outlook on the overall development of the labour market. The scale ranges from 90 (very poor development) to 110 (very good development).

European Labour Market Barometer

The European Labour Market Barometer has been conducted since June 2018 together with the public employment offices in participating countries and the IAB. Currently, 18 countries take part in the survey. These include: Austria, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Belgium-DG, Belgium-Flanders, Germany, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland, Sweden and Belgium-Wallonia. 

https://www.secoalv.admin.ch/content/secoalv/en/home/menue/institutionen-medien/schweizer-arbeitsmarktbarometer.html

Schweizer Arbeitsmarktbarometer

Das Schweizer Arbeitsmarktbarometer ist ein monatlicher Frühindikator, der auf einer Befragung von Arbeitsmarktexpertinnen und -experten ausgewählter Arbeitsvermittlungszentren in 22 Kantonen beruht.


Schweizer Arbeitsmarktbarometer erreicht seinen vorläufig tiefsten Wert

Arbeitsmarktbarometer_November_DE.PNG


Im November 2022 erreicht das Schweizer Arbeitsmarktbarometer ein Niveau von 98,4 Prozentpunkten und damit seinen vorläufigen Tiefstwert.

«Die Arbeitsmarktexpertinnen und -experten in den RAV erwarten für die nächsten drei Monate einen spürbaren Rückgang der Beschäftigung (saisonbereinigt) und einen tendenziellen Anstieg der Arbeitslosigkeit (saisonbereinigt). Auch die Voranmeldungen für Kurzarbeit von Industriebetrieben haben in den letzten Wochen wieder zugenommen. Im Falle eines stärkeren konjunkturellen Abschwungs wäre dieser Wirtschaftszweig als erstes betroffen», so Oliver Schärli, Leiter des Leistungsbereichs Arbeitsmarkt / Arbeitslosenversicherung am SECO.
 

Verschlechterte Bewertung der registrierten Arbeitslosigkeit als auch der Beschäftigung

Grafik_Arbeitsmarktbarometer_November_DE


Mit 98,5 (registrierte Arbeitslosigkeit, saisonbereinigt) bzw. 98,3 (Beschäftigung, saisonbereinigt) werden beide Komponenten des Arbeitsmarktbarometers im November 2022 etwas schlechter bewertet als noch im Vormonat.


Methodik

Das Schweizer Arbeitsmarktbarometer ist ein monatlicher Frühindikator, der auf einer Befragung von Arbeitsmarktexpertinnen und -experten ausgewählter Arbeitsvermittlungszentren in 22 Kantonen beruht. Die Erhebung wird seit Mai 2021 in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB) in Deutschland und dem Europäischen Arbeitsmarktbarometer durchgeführt.

Während Komponente A des Barometers die Entwicklung der saisonbereinigten Arbeitslosenzahlen für die nächsten drei Monate anzeigt, prognostiziert Komponente B die Beschäftigungsentwicklung. Der Durchschnitt aus den Komponenten «Arbeitslosigkeit»  und «Beschäftigung» ergibt den Gesamtwert des Barometers. Dieser Indikator gibt somit einen Ausblick auf die Gesamtentwicklung des Arbeitsmarktes. Die Skala reicht von 90 (sehr schlechte Entwicklung) bis 110 (sehr gute Entwicklung).
 

Europäisches Arbeitsmarktbarometer

Das Europäische Arbeitsmarktbarometer wird seit Juni 2018 gemeinsam mit den öffentlichen Arbeitsverwaltungen der Teilnehmerländer und dem IAB durchgeführt. Aktuell nehmen 18 Länder an der Befragung teil. Dazu gehören: Österreich, Bulgarien, Zypern, die Tschechische Republik, Dänemark, Belgien-DG, Belgien-Flandern, Deutschland, Island, Liechtenstein, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malta, Polen, Portugal, die Schweiz, Schweden und Belgien-Wallonien.

https://www.secoalv.admin.ch/content/secoalv/de/home/menue/institutionen-medien/schweizer-arbeitsmarktbarometer.html